HON 10
P

(oVERVIEW)

Fluxx is an easy game to learn because every card
carries its own instructions. Many people find that the
best way to learn is by jumping right into a game, but
that usually works best if at least one player in the
group has played a Fluxx game before. So, if this is

the first time for everyone, someone in the group needs

to read these rules. But don’t worry, after you’ve played
the game a few times, everyone will understand!

Place the Basic Rules
card in the center of
the table. Shuffle the
deck and deal three
cards to each player.
Place the remainder
of the deck face down
next to the Basic
Rules to form a Draw
pile. At the start of
the game, there will

How to Begin

Start by putting
the Basic Rules
in the middle of
the table.

BASIC
RULES

11

Shuffle
the deck.

Deal three

be no Goal or New °a":.5 to
Rule cards in play — eac
player.

they will be added as
the game progresses.

(GOING FIRST)

There is no rule for who gets to go first. You decide!

Sample Game
(in progress)

Keepers are

played face-up on
the table in front

Goals are played to the of each player.

middle of the table.

KEEPER
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Actions are used, then

immediately discarded
in the discard pile.

NEW RULE
NEW RULE

KEEPER

New Rules are
played next to the
Basic Rules in the

middle of the table.

(How ToO PLAY )

Fluxx is a game about change, so this game will
change as you play it. The game begins with just a
couple of very simple rules and becomes more
complex as additional rules are added via special cards
called New Rules.

Start by following the Basic Rules (draw one card & play
one card) and adapt to all additional New Rules as they
are played. Players take turns, going clockwise around
the table, drawing and playing the indicated number of
cards until someone meets the current Goal condition.

Goal cards set the winning conditions. Meeting the Goall
will require that you have a specific combination of cards
called Keepers on the table in front of you. When a new

Goal is played, it replaces the old Goal.

| On Your Turn: |

1) Draw the number of cards currently required.
2) Play the number of cards currently required.
3) Discard down to the current Hand Limit (if any).
4) Comply with the current Keeper Limit (if any).

When playing a card, you may choose any card in
your hand. If you aren’t sure how a card works, try
reading the full text aloud as you play it.

(How To WIN)

The game continues until someone meets the
conditions of the current Goal. That player wins
instantly, no matter whose turn it is!

Find more Fluxx at
game & book stores:

www.FluxxGames.com




(cARD TYPES )

BASIC RULES: This is the starting point — the foundation
on which the rest of the game is built. These initial rules will
be superseded by New Rules during the course of play, but
this card should remain on the table at all times. The Basic
Rules are: Draw 1 card per turn and Play 1 card per turn
(with no other restrictions such as Hand or Keeper Limits).

BASIC
RULES

NEW RULE: To play a New Rule, place it face up near
* the Basic Rules. If it contradicts a New Rule already in play,
discard the old rule. New Rules take effect instantly, so all
players must immediately follow the New Rule as required.
This will often cause the player whose turn it is to draw or
play additional cards right away, or it may cause other
players to immediately discard some of their cards.

Example: After drawing 1 card, you play the “Draw 3” New Rule. Now the rules
require you to Draw 3 cards on each turn, but since you only took 1 card before,
you must immediately draw 2 more cards. The next player draws 3 cards. He plays
the “Draw 2” which changes the rules again, but he draws no more, having already
gotten (at least) 2 cards. Since Draw 2 contradicts Draw 3, the Draw 3 is discarded.

GOAL: To play a Goal, place it face up in the center of the
table, discarding the previous Goal (if any). The game begins
with no Goal in play, so no one can win until one is played.
The Goal applies to everyone; as soon as someone meets
these conditions, they win! (Even if it’s someone else’s turn!)

KEEPER: To play a Keeper, take it out of your hand and

V place it on the table in front of you, face up. Most Goals
require you to have a particular pair of Keepers, so playing a
Keeper is always a good thing.

ACTION: Actions are used once and discarded. Just do
whatever the card says, then place it on the Discard Pile.
Actions can sometimes cause major chaos, and yet at other
times, have no effect at all. Note that while some Actions may
cause additional cards to be played, everything that happens
as a result of an Action card is considered part of one “play.”

Example: If you play the Action called “Use What You Take” you will take a card
from another player’s hand and immediately play it. If that card is “Draw 2 and
Use ‘em” you’d keep going, drawing 2 more cards and immediately playing

them both. All of this activity would be counted as the playing of just one card.

If the Draw pile runs out,
shuffle the Discard pile,
turn it over to make a new
Draw pile, and keep playing.

Regarding Discarding:

Discarding a card is not the same as playing
it. When a card is played all instructions on
that card must be followed, if possible. You
cannot simply discard unwanted cards; you
can only discard if compelled to by a Hand
Limit. (Yes, this means you could be forced
to play a card that makes someone else win.)

New players may join at
any time by being dealt a
hand of three cards.

( FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS )

Q: What happens if | want to play a New Rule but there's already a
New Rule in the center on the table? Does it replace the old New
Rule, or do they peacefully co-exist?

A: It all depends on contradictions. There's no limit on the number of
New Rules that can be in play at once, as long as they don't interfere
with each other. If the New Rule you are adding has nothing to do
with the existing New Rule, both rules remain. However, if both rules
are about the same thing, for example how many cards to Draw, then
the new card becomes the rule and the old rule is discarded.

Q: What if a New Rule, such as Play 3,
contradicts the Basic Rules?

A: The New Rule still supersedes the
Basic Rules, but the Basic Rules card
does not get discarded. To help to avoid
confusion, the New Rule can be placed
to cover-up the portion of Basic Rules it
replaces, as shown.

Q: What if the Rules require me to Play 4 but | only have 2 cards?
A: Play as many as you can. Your turn ends when you have no cards
left in your hand, even if you are supposed to play more.

Q: Suppose the rule is Play 2 and for my second play | change the rules
to Play 3. Do | play one more card or am | done because | played 2?
A: All rules take effect immediately, so you would need to play 1 more
card because the rules at that point had become Play 3.

Q: Can you use Trash a Keeper to discard one of your own Keepers?
A: Yes.

Q: How do | interpret the Play All card? If, by playing my cards, |
receive more cards in my hand, do those new cards have to be
played as well, so that | will always end up with zero cards in my hand
at the end of my turn as long as Play All is on the table?

A: Yes.

Q: Suppose it's my turn, and the current Goal says you need 2
Keepers to win, and | have one of them, and someone else has the
other Keeper on the table. Can | just grab it from him and win?

A: That would be cheating, unless you play the Steal a Keeper Action
card which allows you to do exactly that.

Q: If | play a Keeper, and | already had a Keeper, do | have to discard
the first one to play the new one? Is there a Limit to the number of
Keepers | can have in play?

A: You can have as many Keepers in front of you as you want, unless
a Keeper Limit New Rule card is played. Even then, you can play as
many Keepers as the current rules will allow during your turn and only
decide which ones to keep and which to throw away (so as to comply
with the Keeper Limit) when your turn is over.

Q: Suppose there's a Hand or Keeper Limit rule in play when my
turn begins, but, during the course of my turn, the limit card is
removed and discarded as a result of another Rule card or Action
card. Is it still necessary for me to discard down to the limit that is no
longer in play?

A: Nope! Just as Rules take effect immediately, their effects also
cease the moment the rule disappears.

Q: Does a Hand Limit mean "hold the limit number, unless you
already have fewer cards, in which case hold that lower number"?
A: Yes. It's not a quota that you must draw up to in order to meet, it's
simply a cap on the number of cards you're allowed to hold.

Q: When discarding cards because of a Limit rule, do you get to
choose what to discard, or is it random?
A: You get to choose.

Q: Do | get to play any cards or take any actions when it's not my turn?
A: When it's someone else's turn, there's not much you get to do --
there are no cards you can play out of turn. But you will sometimes
need to make minor decisions and perform card maintenance during
other players' turns. For example, if someone plays a Hand Limit and
you have more cards in your hand than are allowed, you'll need to
decide what to keep and what to discard.

Q: If the Trade Hands card is played and the rest of the players have
no cards, is that player required to give away the rest of his cards for
nothing in return or is the action optional?

A: If you play the card, you have to carry out the action, so yes, you'd
have to give away the rest of your hand and get nothing in return if
everyone else is empty handed. It says on the card, "This is one of
those times when you can get something for nothing." Well, it's also a
time when you might give something away and get nothing back!

Q: Suppose | play Draw 2 and Use 'em and | draw two Goals, and
one of them will cause my opponent to win. Can | play the two Goals
in instant succession, with the one that doesn't make them win on top,
so that they don't get to win?

A: No. Any time a Goal is played, it provides a chance for someone to
win with those conditions. No matter how briefly that Goal is in play, it
counts, and if someone meets the conditions in that instant, they win.

Q: If you play Use What You Take and pull a Keeper, do you use it on
the person you took it from or does it go in your own Keeper collection?
A: YOU play the card you stole, so you get to keep the Keeper.

Q: Can you answer more of
my questions on the internet?
A: Yes! Please visit us at
LooneyLabs.com for the
latest FAQ updates!
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